The Sheriff's Office administers the concealed handgun licensing program for residents of Lincoln County. Each applicant is fingerprinted, photographed, and an extensive criminal, civil, and mental health background check is conducted. To qualify for a concealed handgun license you must:
- be at least 21 years of age
- be a US citizen or have proof of application with intent to become a citizen
- be a resident of Lincoln County
- never have been convicted of a felony
- not have been convicted of a misdemeanor in the last four years
- pay appropriate fees
- Oregon CHL Course and Certificate or provide written documentation which demonstrates that you have taken a handgun safety course (List of instructors in our area or online course)
- pass background check
Applications are available on our website (see link below) or at your Sheriff's Office Support Services Division located in the Lincoln County Courthouse at 225 W. Olive Street, Room 203, Newport, Oregon 97365. We are open to the public as follows (excluding holidays):
- Monday through Thursday, 8:00 am - Noon and 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
- Friday, 8:00 am - Noon
You may also request an application be mailed to you by calling (541) 265-4912.
To schedule an appointment to turn in your application, please contact us at (541) 265-4912. During your appointment, you will photographed, fingerprinted, and a fee of $65.00 will be collected to cover the costs of the license and fingerprinting. A concealed handgun license is valid for four (4) years. If you have additional questions, please call 541-265-4912 or read Concealed Handgun License FAQs on our website.