Temporary Food Events

Each person or organization who wishes to sell or give out food to the general public during a special event is required by Oregon law to obtain a temporary restaurant license. Every food booth must apply for a separate license for each event where food is served.

This applies to any establishment operating temporarily in connection with any event where food is prepared or served to the public. Examples are but are not limited to:

  • Farmers markets
  • Festivals
  • Concerts
  • Fairs
  • Circuses
  • Carnivals
  • Flea markets

Good to Know

If you do not have a food handler card and you are planning to operate a temporary restaurant, you can take the test online.

Requirements

In order to have your license approved, your temporary restaurant must have the following amenities:

  • An approved kitchen
  • Hand washing station
  • Cold and hot holding facilities
  • Roof and floor
  • Probe thermometer
  • Sanitizing cloths

A license may not be needed for private events, or if you are serving certain types of foods. 

Get a License

Step 1: Choose a License

  • Single Event License: Set up at one event, including multi-day events, for a maximum of 30 days.

Example: A community fair or Seafood and Wine Festival.

  • Intermittent (30-day) license: Set up at multiple events, with different organizers, as long as each event occurs at the same location for a maximum of 30 days.

Example: Set-up for multiple events all occurring at the fairgrounds

  • Seasonal (90-day) license: Serve at one event, in the same location, for an entire season

Example: Serving at Newport Saturday market for June, July and August.

Step 2: Submit an Application

Submit a completed application and fee at least two weeks before your event. If this is your first time applying for a temporary restaurant license, you are required to apply for a 30-day license. An inspector will review your application and inspect your booth on the first day of the event. Additional inspections may occur if serious public health issues are not corrected.

A completed operational plan review must be submitted with an application for Intermittent and seasonal licenses.

Fees

Fee schedule

Renew

Temporary event licenses are valid for a specific time frame:

  • Single event license - good for that event only. A new license is required for each event.
  • Intermittent event license - you must renew your license after 30 days
  • Seasonal event license - you must renew your license after 90 days

 

CONTACT US

Lincoln County Environmental Health

Mailing address: 36 SW Nye St, Newport, Oregon 97365

Physical address: 255 Oregon Coast Highway, Suite 203A, Newport, Oregon 97365

Phone: (541) 265-4127

Fax: (541) 574-6252